Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome home ceremonies after 10 months in Iraq.

Welcome home ceremonies after 10 months in Iraq.

My name is Maggie Pajak. I am the author and publisher of the illustrated children’s book,“Jellybeans Morning, Noon & Night.” I made up this story years ago when my husband was deployed in Iraq in 2005.

This story was the bribe that got my son to sleep in his own bed at night. Sleep was hard to come by as it was, not knowing what news I would wake up to with the thought that my husband could be in harms way. Having a two year old rolling around all night in your bed didn’t exactly bring a restful night’s sleep either.

As the parent on full-time “night-night duty,” I read more than my share of bedtime books that year. One night I decided to mix it up a bit and came up with this silly story about a boy and his love for jellybeans.

THIS BOOK IS MORE THAN A STORY

Me and my giggly son

Me and my giggly son

To me this book is more than a story about two brother’s love for jellybeans – ALL of them and their plan to get Mom to let them eat them morning, noon and night. It is more than a lesson of moderation and letting your kids learn a lesson on their own.

To me it brought a few giggle-filled moments with my son at the end of some very long and trying days.

It is for this reason I decided to dedicate the book, not just to my husband and our son, but to all of the troops and their kids.

I know my son and I were not alone. I know I was not the only parent on full-time “night-night duty.” I know my son was not the only child missing their parent. And I know I was not the only wife missing their husband.

Dedication to the troops and their kids.

Dedication page in “Jellybeans Morning, Noon & Night”

To the left is an image of the dedication page in my book, “Jellybeans Morning, Noon & Night.” It displays a pic of my son Matthew (who’s 10 now) holding a pillow with a photo of my husband in uniform back when he was deployed in Iraq. I hope that “Jellybeans Morning, Noon & Night” can bring some levity to others as it did for me and my giggle son those many years ago and as it did for my younger son Andrew (5) while my husband was deployed in 2011.

# # #

Download a free sample of “Jellybeans Morning, Noon & Night” on Kickstarter here.

